EUC Volleyball 2019 concludes in Lodz

EUC Volleyball 2019 concludes in Lodz

The 2019 European Universities Volleyball Championship came to an end on August 2 following a thrilling day of finals and an exciting Closing Ceremony at MOSiR Malachowskiego Sports Hall.

Over 400 participants representing 27 Universities from 16 different countries took part in this year’s edition of the event, which was the 15th in EUSA’s history.

Italy’s University of Bologna were crowned champions in the women’s competition after their 3-1 victory over Turkey’s Istanbul Aydin University.

Women's winners at EUC Volleyball 2019

In men’s finals, the title of champions went to Turkey’s Beykent University who were too good for Croatia’s Josip Juraj Strossmayer University of Osijek, beating them 3-0.

The medals and awards were presented by City of Lodz Council Chairman Mr Marcin Gołaszewski, SCAC Chair Mr Joerg Foerster, EUSA Volleyball Technical Delegate Ms Ellen-Mari Burheim, EUSA Assistant Technical Delegate Mr Lars Rydland and OC Vice-chairman Mr Przemysław Jagielski.

Men's winners at EUC Volleyball 2019


Women’s Competition
1. University of Bologna (ITA)
2. Istanbul Aydin University (TUR)
3. University of Rijeka (CRO)

Men’s Competition
1. Beykent University (TUR)
2. Josip Juraj Strossmayer University of Osijek (CRO)
3. University of Montpellier (FRA)

At the Closing Ceremony, the EUSA flag was passed to next organisers’ representative Mr Nuno Reis – President of the Students Union of Minho University before Mr Pedro Castro – Vice-president of the Portuguese National University Sport Federation – addressed the participants, warmly inviting them to the next edition of EUC Volleyball to be held in Guimaraes, Portugal in 2021.

Flag waving at EUC Volleyball 2019

For the full set of this event’s results, please visit