EUC Chess 2019
European Universities Golf Championship

Antequera, Spain
June 23-27, 2019

Eight men and eight women teams from 10 universities from six countries, making up 68 participants in total, descended upon Antequera in Spain for the 2019 European Universities Golf Championship.

The competition was organised by the Spanish University Sports Federation and the University of Malaga, with the contribution of the Spanish Royal Golf Federation and Antequera Municipality.

At the event EUSA was represented by EUSA Executive Committee Member Mr Jean Francoise Sautereau and Golf Technical Delegate Mr Miha Kurner.

It was a clean sweep for the University of Stirling in the men’s individual category, where Jordan Sundborg claimed gold as he carded 288, seven strokes ahead of teammate Colin Edgar in second as Mark Napier, also from the University of Stirling, took the bronze medal.

EUC Golf 2019

The University of Stirling naturally claimed overall gold in the men’s team tournament, with University of Malaga in second and University of Navarra third.

University of Malaga’s Esperanza Serrano claimed gold in the individual women’s category, closely followed by Camille Tremoulet from the University of Toulouse 1 Capitole who bagged the silver medal, while Noemi Carpinelli of the Swiss University of St Gallen came third.

EUC Golf 2019 women's action

In the women's team category, the overall trophy was handed to the Abat Oliba CEU University, who ended one point ahead of second-placed Toulouse 1 Capitole as the University of Malaga claimed bronze.

Ferrara, Italy has been confirmed as hosts of the next European Universities Gold Championship, taking place in the summer of 2021.

Please visit for more information.


1 University of Stirling (GBR)

2 University of Malaga (ESP)

3 University of Navarre (ESP)

3 Toulouse 1 Capitole University (FRA)

5 University of Mannheim (GER)

6 University of Algarve (POR)

7 Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (GER)

8 University of St Gallen (SUI)


1 Abat Oliba CEU University (ESP)

2 Toulouse 1 Capitole University (FRA)

3 University of Malaga (ESP)

4 University of St Gallen (SUI)

5 University of Bourgogne (FRA)

6 Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (GER)

7 University of Algarve (POR)

8 University of Navarre (ESP)

Individual Gold Medallists

Men’s Singles

1 Jordan Sundborg University of Stirling (GBR)

Women’s Singles

1 Esperanza Serrano Torres University of Malaga (ESP)