Badminton Championship 2019 European Universities Badminton Championship

Lodz, Poland
June 23-29, 2019

Over 100 participants representing 15 universities from 11 countries took part in the 12th edition of the European Universities Badminton Championship, which was hosted in the Polish city of Lodz.

The competition was organised by the Lodz University of Technology Sports Association with the contribution of Lodz University of Technology and the University Sports Association of Poland, and took place at the Sports Bay Complex at the Lodz University of Technology.

EUSA was represented at the event by EUSA Executive Committee representative Mr Panos Razis as well as Badminton Technical Delegate Mr Erik Ligtvoet and assistant Ms Isabelle Jobard.

The team tournament concluded on Wednesday, 26 June with the final between University of West Bohemia (CZE) and University of Nottingham (GBR).

The Czech team won the men’s singles, but Nottingham claimed victory in the women’s singles, men’s doubles and women’s doubles to win the overall title, while the bronze medal was shared by two Swiss teams: University of Fribourg and University of Bern.

Badminton action EUC2019

In the mixed doubles finals, the title of champions went to John Torjussen and Emily Westwood from University of Nottingham, who won an exciting final match against Pawel Pietryja and Kornelia Marczak representing Opole University from Poland.

In the men’s singles finals, Jan Louda from University of West Bohemia claimed the gold medal after beating his teammate – and doubles partner – Ondrej Kral in the final.

Lilian Yang from the University of Nottingham followed up her gold medal at the previous year’s European Universities Games in Coimbra by again winning the women’s singles final in Lodz, this time against Ronja Stern from University of Bern (SUI).

Yang then teamed up with of University of Nottingham teammate Westwood to both secure their second gold medal of the competition in the women’s doubles finals, where they defeated Lea Maria Muller and Ronja Stern from the University of Bern.

In the last game of the championship – the men’s doubles finals – the title of champions went to Fabien Delrue and Mateo Martinez from University of Strasbourg, who emerged victorious in the final against Ahmet Can Oruc and Yusuf Yasar of Uludag University (TUR).

EUC2019 Badminton medallists

The next EUSA Badminton competition will take place in Belgrade, Serbia at the fifth edition of the European Universities Games ahead of the 2021 European Universities Badminton Championships taking place in Miskolc, Hungary.

Please visit for more information.


Mixed Team

1 University of Nottingham (GBR)

2 University of West Bohemia (CZE)

3 University of Bern (SUI)

3 University of Fribourg (SUI)

5 University of Strasbourg (FRA)

6 University of Bordeaux (FRA)

7 Uludag University (TUR)

8 Opole University (POL)

9 N. I. Lobachevsky State University of Nizhny Novgorod (RUS)

10 University of Duisburg-Essen (GER)

11 German Sport University Cologne (GER)

12 University of Lisbon (POR)

13 Ural Federal University (RUS)

14 Polytechnic University of Valencia (ESP)

15 University of Maribor (SLO)


Men’s Singles:
1. Jan Louda, University of West Bohemia (CZE)

Women’s Singles:
1. Lilian Yang, University of Nottingham (GBR)

Mixed Doubles:
1. Torjussen & Westwood, University of Nottingham (GBR)

Men’s Doubles:
1. Delrue & Martinez, University of Strasbourg (FRA)

Women’s Doubles:
1. Yang & Westwood, University of Nottingham (GBR)