Nicosia 201312th European Universities Volleyball Championship

Nicosia, Cyprus: June 23 - 30, 2013


EUC Volleyball Closing Ceremony

At the University of Cyprus Sports Hall in Nicosia, the closing ceremony of the 12th European Universities Volleyball Championships concluded on June 30, 2013. 26 participating teams, representing 24 Universities from 12 countries took part in this year’s edition of the event. The Opening Ceremony of 12th European Universities Volleyball Championship took place on June 24 2013 in Nicosia at the University of Cyprus Sports Hall.

March pass of the athletes


The Ceremony was attended by the President of Cyprus Sport Organization Mr Pambos Stylianou, the Rector of the University of Cyprus prof. Constantinos Christofides, the Mayor of Municipality of Aglatzia Mr Kostas Korta and the President of Cyprus Volleyball Federation Mr Damianos Chatzidamianou. On behalf of the Organizing Committee participants were welcomed by the President of the Organizing Committee, Dr Michalis Krashias.

EUSA Delegate Mr Dinos Pavlou


EUSA Delegate Mr Dinos Pavlou welcomed all participants and wished all the teams and participants who came to test their skills and abilities great competitions and all the best. He also thanked the Organizing Committee for all their contributions.



The event was held between June 23 and 30 in Nicosia and organised by the Cyprus University Sports Federation and the University of Cyprus with contribution of the Cyprus Volleyball Federation. Cyprus University Sports Federation and the University of Cyprus have already achieved to organize the 3rd World University Beach Volleyball in 2006 and 5th European Universities Handball Championship in 2010 with great success.

High officials and VIPs were awarding the medallists and other award winners


In men’s finals, the title of champion went to the Technical University of Munich from Germany who has won a thrilling final match against University of Nis from Serbia. In women finals, the title of champion went to the University of Cyprus who has won an exciting final match against Kuban State University of Physical Education Sport and Tourism from Russia.

From the medal awarding ceremony


Medals and awards for men’s championship were presented by the Rector of the University of Cyprus Professor Constantinos Christofides, the President of the Organizing Committee, Dr. Michalis Krashias, EUSA Representative Mr Dinos Pavlou, EUSA Technical Delegate Mr Joerg Foerster, Mrs Evgenia Aletra, Mr Damianos Chatzidamianou, Mrs Kalli Chatziosif and Mr Klearchos Charalambous.

For women’s championship medal and awards were presented by the EUSA EC Delegate Mr. Dinos Pavlou, the EUSA Technical Delegate Mrs Ellen Marie Burheim, Mr Pambos Stylianou, Mr Panos Razis, Mr George Kyriazis, Mr Marinos Pelagias, and Mr Evros Demosthenous.


Trophies for individual achievements were also awarded. Volleyball will be featured next at the 2ns EUSA Games next year in Rotterdam, the Netherlands and the next EUC will take place in Camerino, Italy in the summer of 2015. University teams from all over Europe are warmly welcomed to join the next EUSA Volleyball events!


For more information, please see


Winners - Men: Technical University of Munich

Men1. Technical University of Munich, GER
2. University of Nis, SRB
3. University Paul Sabatier of Toulouse, FRA
4. Bashkir State Agrarian University, TUR
5. University of Rzeszow, POL
6. University of Jyvaskyla, FIN
7. University of Warsaw, POL
8. University of Cyprus, CYP
9. Polytechnic Institute of Porto, POR
10. Sogn og Fjordane University College, NOR
11. Frederick University, CYP
12. Dublin City University, IRL
13. Norwegian University of Science and Technology, NOR
14. Sheffield Hallam University, GBR

Winners women: University of Cyprus


1. University of Cyprus, CYP
2. Kuban State University of Physical Education, Sport and Tourism, RUS
3. Moscow State Agro-Engineering University, RUS
4. Technical University of Chemnitz, GER
5. University of Nantes, FRA
6. University of Bergen, NOR
7. University of Minho, POR
8. Wroclaw University of Environmental and Life Sciences, POL
9. Fribourg University, SUI
10. Tampere University of Technology, FIN
11. King's College London, GBR
12. Dublin City University, IRL