1st European University Basketball Championship 


The first European University Basketball Championship took place in Aveiro (POR). It was organised by the University Sports Federation (FADU). Unfortunatelly, due to the terrorist attack in the USA many teams cancelled their participation the very last moment, so 8 teams from 6 European countries took part at the Championship. The first title of European University Champions went to team from University of Maribor, which won all the matches and thus defeated their colleagues from Athens (75:65), Aveiro (78:69), Oxford (73:50) and Lisbon (85:62) and women's team from the University of Novi Sad, which won against the University of Lille in the finals with the score 83:53.



University of Maribor



1 SLO Maribor University of Maribor
2 POR Lisboa Technical University of Lisbon
3 GBR Oxford University of Oxford
4 GRE Athens University of Athens
5 POR Aveiro Aveiro University
1 SCG Novi Sad University of Novi Sad
2 FRA Lille Lille 2 University
3 POR Aveiro Aveiro University

27.09.2001 - 01.10.2001

Aveiro / Portugal

E-mail: ...
Web: http://eucbasket-aveiro.sas.ua.pt