Beach Volleyball Championship 2019 European Universities Beach Volleyball Championship

Koper, Slovenia
July 21-26, 2019

Over 120 participants from 43 universities and 22 different countries were present in Koper, Slovenia for the 12th edition of the European Universities Beach Volleyball Championship.

The competition, which took place simultaneously with the European Universities Water Polo Championship, was organised by the Slovenian University Sports Association (SUSA) and the University Sports Association of Primorska (USZP), with the contribution of the City of Koper municipality.

EUSA was represented at the event by Executive Committee members Mr Ceslovas Garbaliauskas and Mr Bruno Barracosa, together with Beach Volleyball Technical Delegate Mr Adriano Paco.

In the women’s competition, an extremely tense gold medal was won by Eva Pfeffer and Franziska Friedl from Vienna University, who beat University of Warsaw’s Izabela Błasiak and Paula Slonecka.

EUC Beach Volleyball 2019

The men’s final ended in an unexpected manner, as a severe storm hit the Slovene coastal region, forcing participants, spectators and organisers indoors. After a lengthy delay, EUSA officials decided to split the gold medal among both Austrian finalists, with Peter Eglseer and Florian Schnetzer (University of Linz) and Felix Friedl and Maximilian Trummer (University of Graz) sharing first prize.

Beach Volleyball men

The next European Universities Beach Volleyball Championships will take place in Malaga, Spain in 2021 as a part of the EUSA Beach Championships alongside Beach Handball, while Beach Volleyball is also on the sports schedule at the 2020 European Universities Games in Belgrade, Serbia.

Please visit for more information.

1 University of Linz (AUT)
1 University of Graz (AUT0
3 Lithuanian Sports University (LTU)
4 Poznan University of Life Sciences (POL)
5 Hasselt University (BEL)
6 University of Frankfurt (GER)
7 University of Toulouse 3 (FRA)
8 Technical University of Munich (GER)
9 National Institute of Applied sciences of Toulouse (FRA)
10 Riga Stradins University (LAT)
11 Moldova State University (MDA)
12 National Technical University of Athens (GRE)
13 Ben-Gurion University of the Negev (ISR)
14 University of Maribor (SLO)
15 Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich (SUI)
16 Manisa Celal Bayar University (TUR)
17 University of Porto (POR)
18 University of Zagreb (CRO)
19 University of Primorska (SLO)
20 University of Wageningen (NED)
21 Karlstads University (SWE)
22 University North (CRO)
23 Technion – Israel Institute of Technology (ISR)

1 University of Vienna (AUT)
2 University of Warsaw (POL)
3 Vytautas Magnus University (LTU)
4 Balikesir University (TUR)
5 University of Clermont Auvergne (FRA)
6 University of Cologne (GER)
7 Petro Mohyla Black Sea National University (UKR)
8 Czech Technical University in Prague (CZE)
9 University of Cyprus (CYP)
10 University of Grenoble Alpes (FRA)
11 Utrecht University (NED)
12 University of Leipzig (GER)
13 University of Graz (AUT)
14 Manisa Celal Bayar University (TUR)
15 University of Porto (POR)
16 University of Basel (SUI)
17 University of Primorska (SLO)
18 Wroclaw University of Environmental and Life Sciences (POL)
19 Aalto University (FIN)
20 University of Physical Education (HUN)
21 National Research University of Electronic Technology (RUS)
22 University of Maribor (SLO)
23 University North (CRO)
24 University of Debrecen (HUN)