Rotterdam 20131st European Universities Basketball 3x3 Championship

Rotterdam, the Netherlands: August 19-21, 2013



EUC Baksetball 3x3

The premier edition of the European Universities Basketball 3x3 Championship took place between August 19 and 21 at the Erasmus University Rotterdam in the Netherlands.

Over 80 participants representing 19 universities from 10 countries took part in the first edition of the event which took place in Rotterdam, the host city of the next year's European Universities Games. The competition was organized under the umbrella of the European University Sports Association (EUSA) by the Dutch Student Sport Association (SSN) and Erasmus University Rotterdam, with contribution of Erasmus Sport, Foundation 2nd European Universities Championship 2014 and Students basketball club EBV Baros.

Mr Olaf Tabor opening the Championship

The Opening Ceremony took place on August 20 in the Erasmus Sport Center. The Ceremony was attended by Mr Bart Straatman, Vice-President of the Erasmus University, Mr Daniël Sikkens, president of the board of Erasmus Sport Foundation, EUSA Treasurer Mr Olaf Tabor, Technical Delegate for Basketball 3x3 Mr Ilan Kowalski and Mr Patrik Perosa, EUSA Sports Manager. On behalf of the Organizing Committee, participants were welcomed by Mr Jack Jacobs, Sports Manager.

Men's matches

In men’s competition, the title of champions went to the University of Split from Croatia who won a thrilling final match against the University of Kragujevac from Serbia. In women's finals, the champions became the team of the University of Poitiers from France after winning the finals against the University of Tartu from Estonia.

Awarding ceremony

Medals and awards were presented by EUSA Secretary General Mr Matjaz Pecovnik and the President of foundation Erasmus Sport Mr Daniel Sikkens. At the end, the EUSA flag was passed to the representatives of the University of Kragujevac in Serbia, as the next edition of the event will be held there in 2015.

EUSA Flag being brought in by the volunteers

This is the first edition of the Basketball 3x3, also referred to as street basketball, as the European Universities Championship, so all participants were part of history making.

For more information about the event, please see


Winning team men - University of Split

1. University of Split (CRO)
2. University of Kragujevac (SRB)
3. University of Lorraine (FRA)

Winning team - women: University of Poitiers
1. University of Poitiers (FRA)
2. University of Tartu (EST)
3. University of National and World Economy (BUL)