EUC Badminton 20139th European Universities Badminton Championship

Uppsala, Sweden: May 05 - 11, 2013


Team events started

The 9th European Universities Badminton Championship was held in Uppsala, Sweden between May 5 and 11, 2013. The Championship is also one of the event organised in Sweden in 2013, commemorating the 100th anniversary of the Swedish University Sports Federation (SAIF).


More than 130 participants from 29 Universities from 13 countries took part in this year’s edition of EUC badminton. 15 teams from 10 countries entered the team event, played in Sudirmancup format.

From the Opening Ceremony - March pass of the athletes 


The Opening Ceremony of the 2013 European Universities Badminton Championship took place on May 6 in Uppsala at Fyrishov arena. The Ceremony was attended by Mr Peter Egardt, governor of Uppsala county, Mr Fredrik Ahlstedt, mayor of Uppsala and Mrs Lena Andersson Eklund, pro vice-chancellor Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences.

Mr Haris Pavletic's opening address


On behalf of the Organizing Committee, participants were welcomed by the Secretary General of SAIF, Mr Josef Åhman. EUSA Executive Committee Delegate Mr Haris Pavletic welcomed all participants and wished all the teams and participants who came to test their skills and abilities great competitions and all the best. He also thanked the Organizing Committee for all their contributions.



Monday started with the round robin groups. The teams of University of Helsinki, Volga Region State Academy of Physical Culture, Sport and Tourism, Stockholm University and University of Rouen winning the groups and managed to proceed to the semifinals to earn a well deserved medal.

Awards ceremony


The teams semifinals played on Tuesday were dominated by the University of Helsinki (3-0 vs. Volga Region State Academy of Physical Culture, Sport and Tourism) and University of Rouen (3-0 vs. Stockholm University).

Men's doubles medallists

In the final, the University of Rouen only could win the Women's Singles. The Finnish team from Helsinki, which is participating for the first time at the EUC, won the final 3-1. The team of the University of Helsinki was represented by Eetu Heino, Anton Kaisti, Sanni Rautala and Heini Ihalainen and can be congratulated for their win at the first appearance.

Medal Awarding and Medallists

At the awards ceremony, Mr Mats Tibbelin, the President of the Swedish Badminton Federation and Mr Haris Pavletic as Executive Member of the European University Sports Association (EUSA) presented the medals and awards.
Participants during the free day


On Wednesday during the rest day, the participants had the chance to take part in Uppsala university life during the guided university tour and at night in the student nations organizing the social life of the students.

Men's doubles


The individual tournament started on May 8 and concluded on May 11. In the men’s final, the title of champion went to Sven Eric Kastens, Saarland University, GER, who easily won the final against his countrymen, Alexander Roovers from the University of Duisburg-Essen. The women’s final was also an internal German settlement and the title of champion went to Anika Dörr, University of Duisburg-Essen who won to Mona Lea Reich from Mainz University.

Women's doubles


German team of the University of Duisburg-Essen was also successful in getting the gold medal in women’s doubles, while in men’s doubles the athletes from the Saratov State University, RUS took the lead. Mixed doubles were won by the representatives of the University of Helsinki, FIN, which also won the team’s event at this year’s Championship.

Awarding by Mr Bergh, Mr Cruse and Mrs Jobard


Medals and awards were presented by Mr Stefan Bergh, FISU vice president, together with Mr Bastian Kruse EUSA Technical Delegate for Badminton and Mrs Isabelle Jobard, Assistant Technical Delegate.

Passing the EUSA flag


The EUSA flag was passed on to the Technical University Delft, to be delivered to the Dutch Students Sports Association (Studentensport Nederland), as the next EUSA event featuring badminton will be the 2nd European Universities Games, which will take place in Rotterdam, the Netherlands in 2014.

Team of referees and officials


Please see for full results and more information about the 2013 edition of EUC Badminton. 

Medals at the EUC Badminton 2013






1. University of Helsinki (FIN)

2. University of Rouen (FRA)

3. Volga Region State Academy of Physical Culture, Sport and Tourism (RUS)

3. Stockholm University (SWE)

Team Medallists


Mixed doubles

1. Anton Kaisti/Sanna Rautala, University of Helsinki, FIN

2. Ryhor Varabyou/Viktoriia Vorobeva, Volga Region State Academy, RUS

3. Karolina Kotte/Sebastian Gransbo, Stockholm University, SWE

3. Peder Nordin/Kristina Roman, Stockholm University, SWE

Medallists mixed doubles


Men's doubles

1. Mikhail Loktev/Vadim Novoselov, Saratov State University, RUS

2. Sebastian Gransbo/Peder Nordin, Stockholm University, SWE

3. Joachim Areskär/Richard Eidestedt, Uppsala University, SWE 

3. Fabian Hammes/Hannes Käsbauer, University of Saarland, GER

Medallists Doubles Men


Women's doubles

1. Anika Dörr/Laura Wich, University of Duisburg-Essen, GER

2. Anastasia Dobrynina/Viktoriia Vorobeva, Volga Region State Academy, RUS

3. Catarina Cristina/Vania Leca, Nova University, POR

3. Sandra Emrich/Mona Lea Reich, Mainz University, GER

Medallists Doubles Women


Men's singles

1. Sven Eric Kastens, Saarland University, GER

2. Alexander Roovers, University of Duisburg-Essen, GER

3. Sylvain Ternon, University of Rouen, FRA

3. Mathieu Pohl, University of Saarland, GER

Medallists Singles Men


Women's singles

1. Anika Dörr, University of Duisburg-Essen, GER

2. Mona Lea Reich, Mainz University, GER

3. Manuela Diaz, University of Granada, ESP

3. Sonia Olariu, University of Medicine and Pharmacy, Timisoara, ROU


Medallists Singles Women